The International

invited submissions for the

Wolfgang Metzger Award 2011

This award - presented by the international multidisciplinary Society for Gestalt Theory and its Applications (GTA) - is named after the late honorary chairman Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Metzger, a student of Max Wertheimer and one of the leading members of the second generation of the Berlin School of Gestalt theory.

Picture of Prof. Metzger
The Wolfgang Metzger Page
[W. Metzger Bibliography of Publications in English, French, Italian, Japanese and Spanish]

In the first period of this award it was granted by decision of the board of directors of the GTA to eminent people in Gestalt science and research for outstanding achievements. In 1987, the award went to Gaetano Kanizsa and Riccardo Luccio (Italy) and in 1989 it went to Gunnar Johansson (Sweden).

Since 1999 the award has been granted every second or third year by the board of directors of the GTA based on an international public award contest and a screening and review of the submittals by an international scientific Award Committee. The first prize winners since 1999 were: Giovanni Bruno Vicario (Italy) and Yoshie Kiritani (Japan), in 1999; Peter Ulric Tse (USA), in 2002; Fredrik Sundqvist (Sweden), in 2005; Cees van Leeuwen (NL/Japan), in 2007, and Baingio Pinna (Italy) in 2009.

Applicants for the Metzger Award 2011 have to submit a scientific paper (in English or German) inspired by Gestalt theory and that contributes to the research or the application of Gestalt theory in the physical sciences, the humanities, the social sciences, the economic sciences, or any other field of human studies. Hence, the paper could deal with a subject from psychology, philosophy, medicine, arts, architecture, linguistics, musicology or other fields of research or application of research as long as it is inspired by a Gestalt theoretical approach.

The first prize winner will receive € 1000, will be invited as the award speaker to the 17th international Scientific Convention of the GTA in 2011, and the paper will be published in Gestalt Theory - An International Multidisciplinary Journal in the submitted version or in an adapted form.

Members of the Award Committee for the 2011 contest are: Geert-Jan Boudewijnse (Montreal/Canada; chair), Silvia Bonacchi (Warsaw/Poland), Steven Lehar (Boston, MA/USA), Hellmuth Metz-Göckel (Dortmund/FRG), Baingio Pinna (Sassari, Italy).

  Submittals for the Metzger Award 2011 are due by September 2010.
Send you inquiries about the Metzger Award to the Metzger Award committee at: .

Click here for information about the Wolfgang Metzger Award:
2009 | 2007 | 2005 | 2002 | 1999

The Wolfgang Metzger Page
[W. Metzger Bibliography of Publications in English, French, Italian, Japanese and Spanish]

Wolfgang METZGERs Gesetze des Sehens has been published in English translation: Laws of Seeing, translated by Lothar Spillmann, Steven Lehar, M. Stromeyer, Michael Wertheimer, 2006, MIT-Press. Order this book NOW by clicking HERE !

Home GTA International
Gestalt People | Gestalt Publications | Gestalt Conferences | Gestalt Theoretical Psychotherapy
About Gestalt Theory and the GTA
GTA Home page Deutsch | GTA Home page Italiano | GTA Home page Français